Indian Council of Social Welfare

Indian Council of Social Welfare incorporated as a registered society in 1954 is an action-oriented body with interest in the area of family and child welfare, physically and mentally impaired persons, health services, education and community development. The council is governed by an Executive Committee of 21 members with the  President as the Chief Executive. In memory of it’s former President Mehdi Nawaz Jung, the council presents awards to personalities with exemplary contribution to welfare and community development.

Aramghar, started by ICSW is a home for physically and mentally impaired, destitutes and the elderly. It is located at Shivrampally, Hyderabad. The home has been catering to the needy for more than five decades in the city. 

ICSW established the Women Employment Scheme in 1957 to help destitute women economically. In the year 1956 with the abolition of Jagirdari system, many families were left with no home and no Income. The women of such families were provided training and self employment to alleviate their problems.

As an extension of its activities, the first College of Social Work in erst while Andhra Pradesh was started in the year 1966 with a Diploma Course. In 1972 a three years Degree Course was started and in the year 1985-86 the College was upgraded as a P.G.Centre and subsequently recognized to offer Ph.D Degree in 1992. The college is affiliated to Osmania University. The college is renamed as Roda Mistry College of Social Work & Research Centre (ICSW-AP) from the academic year 2001 in honour of Late. Smt.Roda Mistry founder of the college, an active politician, Minister, a Member of Parliament and a renowned welfare worker of the state. The college was shifted to its present campus at Gachbowli in the year 2001.